Duchy of Savoy was organized around castles

In 1416 the Duchy of Savoy was organized around castles, which were grouped into bailiwicks. There are thus thirteen bailiwicks or equivalents and some 175 castellani1,2, including:

The Bailiwick of Savoy (18 Chatelaines), consisting of Savoy Proper, Maurienne and Terentaise, with Chambéry as its capital, was the capital of the duchy until 1563;
Bailiwick of Bougie (3 Chatelaine), seat: Roussillon (castle) replaces the old strategic town of Saint-Rambert-en-Bugie, then replaced by the bailey
The Bailiwick of Val d’Oeste (5 Chatelaines), seat: Aosta (Tower of the Bailiwick)
The Bailiwick of the Val de Suisse with the Canaves (3 Chatelaines)
The Bailiwick of Chablais (16 Chatelaines), Headquarters: Château de Chillon
Bailiwick of Pays de Vaud (about 8 châtelnies depending on the period), Headquarters: Moudon (château). In 1456, it became a privilege with 17 or 18 castellanis.
The Bailiwick of Fausigny (11 castles), seat: Châtillon (castle)
The Bailiwick of Bres (10 chattelries), Headquarters: Bourg
Bail of Pays de Gex, Head Office: Gex
Bail of Valbonnais, seat: Montluel (Lordship of Montluel)
Bail of the Land of Provence (County of Nice and New Land of Provence), Headquarters: Nice
Bail of Piedmont, seat: Pignerol
Bail of Genevois (County of Geneva), seat: Annecy (Château)
Viennese (9 Castellanies)
In the 18th century the Duchy of Savoy was divided into provinces, circles and communes:

Savoie Clean Province (Chambery)
Maurian Province (Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne)
Tarentaise Province (Moutiers)
Province of Geneva (Annecy)
Faucigny Province (Bonville)
Chhablai Province (Thonon)

Leave a Reply